Staff and Board



Remco de Blaaij  

Remco came to Artspace from the position of Senior Curator at the Centre of Contemporary Arts in Glasgow, where he had worked since 2012. Prior to holding that position, Remco worked at the Van Abbemuseum in the Netherlands from 2006 until 2011, where he co-curated Picasso in Palestine with Charles Esche, Khaled Hourani, Fatima Abdulkarim and Galit Eilat in 2011. He was also part of the team of Be(com)ing Dutch, a two-year project (2006-2008) led by Annie Fletcher at the Van Abbemuseum, that dealt with residues of globalisation, national identity and immigration. His 2012 research project, completed at Goldsmiths University, explored border practices of visual culture against the background of Suriname, South America. In 2013, he was recipient of the CPPC/ICI Travel Grant for Central America and the Caribbean. His written work has been published in a range of international publications.


The Artspace Director position is typically a fixed-term tenure of three years. Each director is engaged to bring a focused, idiosyncratic curatorial voice that provides a burst of new energy and ideas into the local arts ecosystem while connecting the Artspace community to a host of local and international artistic networks. Previous Artspace Directors have included: Misal Adnan Yıldız, Caterina RivaEmma BugdenBrian ButlerTobias BergerRobert LeonardLara BowenPriscilla Pitts and Mary-Louise Brown.

Gallery Administrator

Jaimee Stockman-Young 

Assistant Curator

Bridget Riggir-Cuddy 

Marketing, Media, and Communications Assistant

Geneva Alexander-Marsters


Board of Trustees


Murray Lazelle is a forensic accountant with a 25 year interest in contemporary art including the establishment of an art co-operative and, in the late 1980s, the establishment of a contemporary gallery in downtown Auckland. He has been a director of several small commercial organisations and a trustee of a community-focussed charitable organisation.


Harry Cundy is a practising solicitor.  He was previously involved in establishing and operating a commercial art gallery in Auckland.


Sue Gardiner is a director of the Chartwell Collection of Contemporary New Zealand and Australian Art and a trustee of the Chartwell Trust. She is a regular columnist and feature writer for Art News New Zealand and other publications.


Peter Robinson is an artist and teacher. He works at the Elam School of Fine Arts where he is the programme leader of several postgraduate programmes including Masters of Fine Arts and Postgraduate Diploma. In his career as a practising artist he has exhibited extensively nationally and internationally for 25 years. In 2001 he represented New Zealand with Jacqueline Fraser at the Venice Biennale and in 2008 he was the the recipient of the Walters Prize. More recently he participated in the Sydney Biennale 2012,  Auckland Triennial 2013, Istanbul Biennale 2013 and the Nouveau Festival, Pompidou Centre Paris 2015. In New Zealand recent notable solo public exhibitions include: "Snow Ball Blind Time" Govett Brewster Art Gallery 2008 , "Cuts and Junctures" Adam Art Gallery 2013, "Tribe Subtribe" The New Dowse Art Gallery 2013 and "Syntax" Artspace 2015.


Hanna Scott is the Manager Arts and Culture Programme at Auckland Council. Her writing is published in Australia, Indonesia, Singapore, New Zealand and the USA. Her professional experience includes the roles of Acting Curator of Contemporary Art at Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki (2010-2011), Director at Artspace NZ (2002) and Art Development Curator at the Govett-Brewster Art Gallery (1999-2001).


Cynthia Smith is a qualified lawyer with a passion for arts, literature and education. She is the Chair of the McCahon House Trust and has participated at both board and staff levels of a number of arts organisations, including Gus Fisher Gallery at the University of Auckland, Te Tuhi and Artspace.


Fiona Warburton has a commercial background, most recently in the aviation and loyalty sectors. She also has an active interest in contemporary art.


Desna Whaanga-Schollum Ngā iwi: Ngāti Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Pāhauwera. Desna works in the areas of design, art and environmental research, connected through the kaupapa of Māori cultural identity articulation. Professional experience includes: Co-Chair Ngā Aho, Māori Design Professionals network (2011-2015); Editorial Committee, Landscape Foundation Journal (2015); Governance Committee Treasurer, Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery (2015); Accreditation Panel, GDSNZ (2013-2015); Research Assistant, Te Tira Whakaemi o Te Wairoa: Sites of Significance, Treaty of Waitangi Claims, Crown Forestry Rental Trust (2011-2013). Designer Tāonga Māori, Ukaipō, MTG (2013); Photographer / Designer, Te Arawhiti Truth & Reconciliation: Te Tira Whakaemi o Te Wairoa Treaty of Waitangi Claims (2014).