Money For Nothing

Billy Apple (NZ/US), Peter Blake (GB), Plamen Dejanoff, Violet Faigan (NZ), David Hatcher (NZ), Christian Jankowski (D), Andrew McLeod (NZ), Larry Miller (USA), Dane Mitchell (NZ), Kate Newby (NZ), Seth Siegelaub (NL), Santiago Sierra (MEX), Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas (LIT), Eimi Tamua (NZ), Rirkrit Tiravanija (IND), Andy Warhol (USA), Robert Watts (USA), Lauren Winstone (NZ)

6 March - 12 April 2003

Curated by Tobias Berger

Exploring the concept of value through art. this exhibition uses artistic output to look at the relationship between people and economy; the way artist and art deals with value, economy, and the economic impacts on and of the art world. Tobias Berger, Artspace's new Director feels it is necessary to first question the value of art and then to test out the ways today's artists deal with this. Money for Nothing addresses the relationship that has existed between art and economy from the 60’s to today.

The exhibition starts with small, more conceptual, examples from the 60s like Billy Apple's FOR SALE (1961), Robert Watts attempt to copyright POP (1965), or the 70s plaque by the English Pop artist Peter Blake. More recent examples include Santiago Sierra who paid six men in Cuba USD30 each to stand in a row and get a line tattooed on their backs; Nomeda and Gediminas Urbonas present a film in which the volunteer employees of the Lithuanian Saving Bank are singing the Abba classic "Money, Money, Money" the day before this last state owned bank is privatised. Rirkrit Tiravanija quotes the influential 50s movements The Situationists with "NE TRAVAILLEZ JAMAIS" (never work).

Six young New Zealand artists also feature; David Hatcher’s pictorial representation of the wild gains and loses of the New Zealand stock market; Samoan Eimi Tamur models of Kentucky Fried Chicken stores; Lauren Winstone’s latest product line “Lazy Bone”. Violet Faigan’s interpretation of volunteer work with her thrift store sound piece.

See available editions by Violet Faigan , Dane Mitchell , Kate Newby  and Rirkrit Tiravanija .