Architecture for the Nation: New Artists Show 2008

Richard Frater, Rangituhia Hollis, Ash Kilmartin, Simon Lawrence,

Alexandra Savtchenko, Tuafale Tanoa’i (Linda T.)

View the online catalogue

Exhibition dates: 14 June – 19 July 2008

Opening reception: Friday 13 June 6pm

Curated by Kate Brettkelly-Chalmers and Brian Butler

Artspace is pleased to announce Architecture for the Nation, the new artists exhibition for 2008. Six artists have been invited to develop new work as part of the cutting edge exhibition programme at Artspace. This exhibition highlights new and vital art practice and aims to reflect the momentum of contemporary art in New Zealand. The new artists exhibition has become an annual event that offers a space for experimentation for some of our best and brightest.

The new artists exhibition, is also the first opportunity for the 2008 Curatorial Intern Kate Brettkelly-Chalmers to co-curate an exhibition with Artspace Director Brian Butler. Architecture for the Nation takes as a starting point the way these artists challenge boundaries and systems of ordering. Both a broad conception of architecture and the notion of the nation state are inherently artificial systems that order our lives.

“What interests me is the astute and perceptive way in which these artists negotiate the paths and positions of what is considered contemporary. This show offers an exciting snapshot of art practices in this moment in time,” says Kate Brettkelly-Chalmers.

In keeping with the concept of the exhibition, emerging graphic designers Tiga Seagar and Sarah Gladwell will design an online catalogue to be launched at the exhibition opening. Six new New Zealand writers;
Martyn Reynolds, Kai Korero, Sam Rountree-Williams, John Ward-Knox, Robert Hood and Anna-Marie White will contribute to the online catalogue.

Kindly supported by:
Studio art supplies logo